Dodo Kopold


Dodo Kopold

Dodo Kopold

Dodo grew up in the High Tatras mountains, a small and wild range with excellent climbing all around. When he was 22, he went on his first expedition in Himachal Pradesh in India. They climbed on a virgin peak, a new route which took them around two weeks. Many ropes, two portaledges, aid climbing, bad hooks and cold. One of his worst experiences, but this climb opened his eyes. He wanted to climb like they used to do it in the mountains he grew up in—light, fast and free. When he was 25 he married and after short time went to the Karakoram again with my wife and my friends. The group climbed Great Trango Tower in alpine style over eight long days. Someone told Dodo that it was above their abilities, but he thought it was just the beginning. His daughter Tara was born in 2008—in that year he spent more time on 8000m peaks than at home. It was hard for him being away from his family. In 2010 his son Leo was born and he spent more time at his home areas climbing and bouldering with his kids. Dodo splits his time between being a father and traveling and climbing a lot, and he strives for a few days of holidays in the vertical—it´s his way of life. 

Discipline: Alpine climbing

Hometown: Bratislava, Slovakia

Currently Living: Bratislava, Slovakia

Height: 175 cm

Career Highlights: First ascents on Great Trango, Uli Biaho, Hainabrakk, Annapurna South and 8000+m peaks; First ascents in High Tatras.

When did you first start climbing/skiing?

When I was 16. I started in High Tatras with several classic winter climbs.  

What do you most enjoy about your sport?

Freedom and the fact that climbing is for me like art. Painting the lines direct to the huge faces.  

How do you define success?

Success means that I am still here and I still climbing and I still have a vision and projects. But I don´t care to be famous. I like to be who I am and not pining for what I´m not.

What are you most proud of, either in life, your sport or both?

My two kids, Tara and Leo. They always motivate me and they always give me energy when I need it. My kids saved my life many times. Now I would like to give them all my experiences.

Who are your heroes?

My heroes are people who know how to live their dreams.

What inspires you?

My visions, my dream. 

What are your hobbies outside of your sport?

My two kids because together we can do everything.

What’s your guilty pleasure?

I never want to stop exploring.

What are your hidden talents?

I am also an artist. I like painting.

Tell us about your most favorite place in the world:

My most favorite place is the place where I can be with my kids. 

As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?

Sailor. And still I fail as a sailor.

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be, and why?

Sometimes I would like to change my dreams. Because I love to live my dreams but it´s not easy all the time.

Tell us about a time in your life when you have been scared:

Many times I was scared. Because those who are climbing high, from high also fall down.

Describe your perfect day:

Sailing with the morning wind and painting the waves in sunset.

How would your friends describe you?

Hard to say. Just like a friend I hope.