Babsi Zangerl


Babsi Zangerl

Babsi Zangerl

Babsi Zangerl first started climbing at 14 when her brother took her along to the gym, and she enjoyed it from the very first moment. She climbed regularly in the gym, and she could hardly imagine that climbing on a natural surface would be so much better than what she found inside. She was pleasantly surprised. In 2009, Babsi suffered a herniated disc, which made her change her attitude toward climbing a bit, as she wasn’t allowed to boulder for a long time. Today she enjoys exploring the different styles of climbing. Babsi loves being outdoors and traveling to various regions to try out cool alpine routes, sport multipitch routes, trad climbs or sport climbs. Climbing and the lifestyle it involves are important to her, and she likes to rise to a challenge and master it.

Discipline: Climbing

Hometown: Strengen, Austria

Currently Living: Bludenz, Austria

Height: 163 cm

Career Highlights: 2008 first female bouldering 8b (Pura vida, Switzerland) 2013 first female ascent of the Alpine Trilogy (Silbergeier, Kaisers neue Kleider and End of Silence) 2014 first female ascent of Prinzip Hoffnung 8b+ E9/E10 Sportclimbs up to 8c/+

When did you first start climbing?

I started climbing when I was 14 in 2002 when my brother took me and my sister to the climbing gym in our hometown. Three month later I had my first real rock experience.

What do you most enjoy about your sport?

Traveling, the creativity, versatility, nature, meeting interesting people and combining all styles of climbing. I really like it to start early in the morning and stay on the wall for the full day. It’s always a big adventure and also sometimes a good challenge for my head.

How do you define success?

When you have fun on a good day outdoors. When you are satisfied after a good climbing day. When you reach your own goal.

What are you most proud of, either in life, your sport or both?

Too break out of the “routine” life.

What inspires you?


What are your hobbies outside of your sport?

Ski touring, Cross-country skiing, trekking, watching good films, relaxing on my couch.

What’s your guilty pleasure?

Chocolate, good French or Italian cheese, CHEWING GUM, couch.

Tell us about your most favorite place in the world:

My home mountains, Indian Creek, South Africa, Corsica, Sardinia…. Everywhere is special…. I have no favorite place.

As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?

Pastry Chef.

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be, and why?

To be less stubborn and to be more decisive.

Tell us about a time in your life when you have been scared:

When Jacopo and I got lost in Marmolada (Dolomites). We went off the right line. It was getting dark, and we had to abseil down the whole night on really bad gear—26 pitches. It was too cold to sleep on the wall. The scariest moment was rappelling down on the shaky, rusty pitons. After 25 hours on the wall, we were able to sleep while standing on the belays. And Jacopo (Italian, but speaks perfect German) was so tired that he couldn’t speak German anymore.

Photo: Melloblocco | OpenCircle