Daila Ojeda


Daila Ojeda

Daila Ojeda

Daila Ojeda started climbing at the age of 18, inspired by a climbing competition in her hometown. Before falling in love with climbing, Daila surfed for many years, something very common in the Canary Islands, her home. After a few years of climbing, Daila decided to leave the island, and she moved to Catalonia, Spain, one of the best places in the world for rock climbing. For Daila, it was really inspiring to be able to climb with a lot of talented climbers who taught her a lot about the sport and the lifestyle. Since then, Daila has been very active in the climbing community, sending some hard sport routes up to 8c/+ (5.14c) and traveling around the world to share her climbing passion. As a female sport climber, she is a role model and has been featured on the covers of climbing magazines around the world. Daila feels very lucky to have climbing in her life.

Discipline: Sport Climber

Hometown: Canary Islands, Spain

Currently Living: France

Career Highlights: 8a onsight, some routes sent of 8b+ and 8c.

When did you first start climbing?

I started climbing when I was 18, so 15 years ago.

What do you most enjoy about your sport?

I can be always in nature; I love sports outdoor.

How do you define success?

When I feel satisfied with myself after having achieved a goal.

Who are your heroes?

People who are looking for their happiness no matter what society imposes.

What inspires you?

It depends, I can be inspired for many reasons—when I watch someone very psyched or having fun climbing, or when I see a really beautiful line, or an amazing landscape..

What are your hobbies outside of your sport?

I love snowboarding! Also I like running with my dog Chaxi.

What’s your guilty pleasure?


What are your hidden talents?

I think it must be too hidden because I have not found it yet! :)

Tell us about your most favorite place in the world:

I love Spain. And I love especially the Canary Islands, where I am from. It´s an amazing place with good weather the whole year, beautiful sea, good food and also climbing... and I have my family there, so it´s my favorite place in the world!

As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?

Veterinarian. It never happened, but I love animals!

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be, and why?

Well actually I feel very happy with myself! I hope this does not sound arrogant!

Tell us about a time in your life when you have been scared:

I don´t remember one moment in particular, but for sure when I started climbing I had a lot of these scary moments, and many times I asked myself, ¨Why I am doing that!!¨

Describe your perfect day:

Sunny, fresh air, good friends and feeling good climbing on my project!

How would your friends describe you?

Maybe honest, transparent, headstrong, emotional…simple and complicated at the same time.