Brody Leven


Brody Leven

Brody Leven

A list of things Brody has forgotten: ATCs on routes that require belaying and/or rappelling, skins on approaches that require skinning, avalanche beacons in the backcountry, to read the avalanche forecast, skis, poles, boots, the rope for a day of ice climbing, crampons, headlamp for pre-dawn approaches, headlamp for after-dark returns, tent poles on a first date.… He forgets the rest.

Discipline: Adventure skiing AKA climbing and skiing that which no one else wants to ski.

Hometown: Chesterland, Ohio AKA “Mom, when can we move?”

Currently Living: Salt Lake City, Utah

Height: 5’8” on a good day

Career Highlights: A) Creating a job where a job didn’t exist. B) Being in the same room as Johnny Collinson.

When did you first start skiing?

Age 5? After-school ski club. My parents don’t ski. Alpine Valley Ski Area, Chesterland, Ohio. It’s 120 vertical feet tall…on a good day. There are two chairlifts. They access the same hill, with the “black diamond” run created by a bunch of stacked up junk cars covered in dirt. I absolutely love this place.

What do you most enjoy about your sport?

Drying my ski boot liners.

How do you define success?

Achieving the unlikely.

What are you most proud of, either in life, your sport or both?

Reinvention, adaptation, and creation in multiple venues.

Who are your heroes?

People doing unlikely things.

What inspires you?

Sleeping 11 hours at a time, climbing, biking, sending emails and never receiving replies.

What’s your guilty pleasure?


Tell us about your most favorite place in the world:

South America. I’ve found very few places on the continent that I dislike…but a town in Argentina, called Malargue, is pretty horrendous. Otherwise, I adore most places, from Colombia to Patagonia. This is not even considering the food or the people—only the landscape, which is paramount to me.

As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?

My dad. And an astronaut.

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be, and why?

I want to be a morning person, and I’m not, at all. It would make so many aspects of life easier in a way that I’m not opposed to.

Tell us about a time in your life when you have been scared:

I was riding my bicycle across the country when I was 22, and I stopped to get some cold pizza out of one of my panniers. That’s when I realized that the sound I’d heard an hour ago, as a semi-truck had been passing me, had actually been that of a container of strawberry yogurt landing on my helmet. After that, it seemed like every truck driver was out to get me: swerving toward me in the shoulder, honking at me, smoking me with exhaust fumes, driving recklessly, throwing fermented dairy products….