Patrik Aufdenblatten


Patrik Aufdenblatten

Patrik Aufdenblatten

Patrik doesn’t see himself as the strongest sport climber, or the best mountaineer, but as a passionate all-arounder who consistently performs at a high level in many disciplines with as little “training” as possible. For him, the most important thing is to have pleasure in what you do and with who you spend your time. Success comes from within, and all the rest is in your mind. Patrik pushes himself to his limit a lot of the time, but that’s what he needs and that’s what he’s searching for.

Discipline: Ice climbing, crack climbing, mountaineering, skiing, BASE jumping

Hometown: Zermatt, Switzerland

Currently Living: Zermatt, Switzerland

Career Highlights: Freerider (5.12d) on El Capitan, Yosemite at age 19. Speed record on Bonatti, North Face of Matterhorn. FA of a new line in Morrocco, climbing M14 and WI 7+.

When did you first start climbing/skiing?

I was skiing on my own when I was 2 years old. I couldn’t walk in my ski boots but as soon as I had my skis on, I was able to ski the slopes down. Then when I was 8 I climbed my first mountain, which was 4100m high.

What do you most enjoy about your sport?

To enjoy time outside with good friends and be happy. 

How do you define success?

I don’t know really, success is relative.

What are you most proud of, either in life, your sport or both?

That I can handle managing a restaurant and climbing beautiful perfect lines.

Who are your heroes?

A lot….

What inspires you?

How high the level is being raised and wondering when it will peak. If there is somewhere I point where now one can go further.

What are your hobbies outside of your sport?

Working. Ok, it’s not really a hobby, but I like my job.

What are your hidden talents?


Tell us about your most favorite place in the world:

At home with the family and girlfriend.

As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?

A mountain guide, but I never did it.

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be, and why?

I would have started BASE jumping earlier so I could combine climbing and jumping.

Tell us about a time in your life when you have been scared:

A lot of times. But the scariest was when I did a really hard waterfall and it was minus 24 degrees and then there were avalanches coming down.

Describe your perfect day:

Wake up when the sun comes out. Eat bread with nutella, drink orange juice. My girlfriend makes me a sandwich and then I go climb an icefall somewhere with my buddy.

How would your friends describe you?

I don’t know. Better you ask them.