Colette McInerney


Colette McInerney

Colette McInerney

Though Colette grew up in Nashville, Tennessee, a location nicely nestled among a few world-class climbing destinations, it wasn’t until she moved to the Bronx, New York, determined to escape small-town American, that she fell quiet randomly into climbing. Two years later, the summer between her sophomore and junior years in college, Colette went out West for the first time where she truly fell in love with the lifestyle behind climbing. Still, she would never have imagined her life would become so fully immersed in the sport. A couple years later her first love led to her second, and Colette found herself completely dedicated to a life of travel and climbing. Today she feels more fortunate than ever to have had the chance to be a part of one of the most incredible communities out there, sharing challenging climbs with them, having most happy experiences and creating a lifestyle that she feels so privileged to call her own.

Discipline: Rock Climbing

Hometown: Nashville, TN

Currently Living: The Road

Height: 5’5”

Career Highlights: I’ve had the privilege to travel the globe through my love of climbing. It’s taken me throughout Europe, back and forth in the States more times than I can count, from South Africa to central China. Perhaps not one specific feat or trip stands out in my mind, it’s the collection of memories and experiences I have gained through travel, climbing and photography that makes me feel like a successful person.

When did you first start climbing?

My first time climbing was in a gym in Stanford, Connecticut, just off the metro north called Go Vertical. First time outside was either Foster Falls in Tennessee, or The Gunks.

What do you most enjoy about your sport?

The people, traveling and break-through moments on a challenging climb.

How do you define success?

Challenging yourself in your own personal way and exploring how that is always changing. Sometimes it means pushing harder, sometimes it means pulling back, allowing space for others things in your life.

What are you most proud of, either in life, your sport or both?

Following my gut even when I felt scared or unsure about the outcome.

Who are your heroes?

My mother. My sister.

What inspires you?

Growth and fearlessness.

What are your hobbies outside of your sport?

Film and photography. Yoga, running, reading, writing. Wishing I was better at languages, cooking and gardening.

What’s your guilty pleasure?

Sweets and booze.

What are your hidden talents?

Hummm, handstands?

Tell us about your most favorite place in the world:

Woah, maybe Spain because I always feel so at peace here. But there’s a tough second between Brazil, South Africa and this tiny island off the coast of Belize I went to once for three days. Turns out I’m a sucker for calm waters and a quiet beach setting.

As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?

Astronaut, duh isn’t that every kids dream!?!

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be, and why?

My procrastination. It’s a total achievement killer. I‘m working on it all the time….

Tell us about a time in your life when you have been scared:

Slow morning, lots of coffee, blue skies, perfect dry, cool breeze, climbing with good people on a fun project in a beautiful location. Beers and Mexican food after.

Describe your perfect day:

Fun, I hope!